Activate, Deactivate, Lock, or Unlock Staff Accounts
Use the Staff Members tab to activate or deactivate staff members and lock or unlock staff member accounts.
Deactivating a staff member does not prevent the person from logging into Anthology Student. It only prevents them from being selected or assigned in the system. The only way to prevent a staff member from logging into the system is to:
-
Lock the staff member's account
-
Remove (clear) the password for the staff member
Both deactivating and locking staff member keep a record of the staff member in Anthology Student.
Best Practice: If staff users are no longer part of the institution, we recommend making those users inactive in Anthology Student in case they are still tied to any records in the system. When users are marked as inactive, records such as Activities, Documents, etc., will still be assigned to them. There will not be any loss of data. No records assigned to them will be deleted. Inactive users can no longer be assigned to any records going forward. If you deactivate a user who is an advisor, we recommend that you reassign those students to an active advisor.
You cannot delete staff members. If, for some reason, you need to delete a staff member, contact Client Services.
Prerequisites and Access
You should be familiar with: Working with Instructors and Admissions Representatives.
| Type of Staff | Access | Authorizations: |
|---|---|---|
| Admission representatives | Processes > Admissions > Admissions Representatives Maintenance |
Common - Processes - View Admissions - Processes - Admissions Representative - Manage |
| All staff | Settings > System > Staff | System - Settings - Staff - Manage |
| Instructors | Processes > Academic Records > Instructor Maintenance |
Common - Processes - View Academics - Processes - Instructor Maintenance - Manage |
The table lists prerequisites specific to the action.
| Action | Prerequisites |
|---|---|
|
Deactivate |
The staff member must not:
If your institution is using the Student Financial Aid Automated Awarding (SFAAA) feature, the staff member must also not be a:
You must make the needed changes in SFAAA to deactivate the staff member. For example, before you can deactivate a staff member who has other staff members/staff groups assigned to them, you must remove the configuration under Organizational Hierarchy or Delegate Staff Group Management for SFAAA. If Anthology Student is integrated with Anthology Finance & HCM, the staff member must not be designated as an instructor in Anthology Finance & HCM. |
|
Lock |
The staff member must not:
|
Deactivating Staff Members
There is more than one method for deactivating staff members.
-
Activate or deactivate
-
Highlight the staff member.
-
Select Activate or Deactivate on the toolbar.
— OR —
-
Select the name of the staff member.
-
Select or clear the Active check box.
-
Select Save and Close.
If you deactivate the staff member, the staff member:
- Remains displayed with No in the Active column
- Is also no longer available to be assigned or selected from lists
-
-
Lock or unlock
-
Select the name of the staff member.
-
Select or clear the Account Locked check box.
-
Select Save and Close.
If you:
- Lock a staff member, they can no longer access Anthology Student
- Unlock a staff member and you are using the Anthology Student database as your Authentication Mode
, Anthology Student displays a message asking if you want to have the staff member change their password when they log in.
-